By Kamlesh Tripathi


Hindu calculation of time is based on ‘manvantara.’ Antara means “space” or “duration between.” Manvantara is therefore a period of time or duration, during which a Manu (the archetypal human being) rules the entire creation. Hindus developed the skill of calculating time based on manvantaras. Western scientists and archaeologists later discovered. That these manvantaras are based on accurate astronomical calculations.

One manvantara is calculated as follows;

  • 360 human years make one divya varshs (celestial year)
  • 4,800 divya varshas make one Satya Yuga, or Krita Yuga.
  • 3,600 divya varshas make one Treta Yuga.
  • 2,400 divya varshas make one Dvapara Yuga.
  • 1,200 divya varsha make one Kali Yuga.

All the yugas together total to 12,000 divya varshas. This one cycle of all the yugas makes one Maha-Yuga or Chatur-Yuga. One Manvantara=71 Maha-yugas, or 306,720,000 human years. One Kalpa, or cycle of creation, preservation, and destruction=14 manvantaras. and thus the cycle of time continues.

At the beginning of each manvantara, a Manu appears and codifies all ethical and social regulations to be followed during the manvantara. The Manu whose code is currently being followed is Vaivasvata Manu, who is the seventh in the line of the cycle of 14 Manus. The six Manus who preceded Vaivasvata Manu were: Svayambhuva, Svarochisha, Uttama, Tamasa, Raivata and Chakshusha. The seven who will follow Vaivasvata Manu are: Savarni, Daksha-savarni, Brahma-savarni, Dharma-savarni, Rudra-savarni, Deva-savarni and Indra-savarni.

Extracted from Hindu holy granth.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s